Chinese
Today is
You are here : Home > Attractions

Huilongtan

( chinadaily.com.cn ) 2013-07-09

Walking out of the Confucius Temple and crossing Binxing Bridge, an ancient bridge built during the Chunyou reign of the Song Dynasty (960 - 1279), visitors can arrive at Huilongtan Park. Huilongtan Pond was dredged in the 16th year of Emperor Wanli of the Ming Dynasty (1588). Five rivers, like zigzagging dragons, converge here at the pond, hence the name Huilongtan Pond (“converging dragons”).

In the pond, there is an island named Mount Kuishan surrounded by crystal clear water. Looking around from the island, it is like a picture of five dragons vying for a pearl. A beautiful mountain-water landscape unfolds before one's eyes.

Huilongtan Park was built in 1928 and was then called Kuishan Park. At the lakeside, there is Kuixing Tower with multi-layer eaves; on the top of the mount sits Zhuangyuan Tower hidden in woods in response to the decorative archway of the lecturing hall of the Confucius Temple. There are also monuments to Tongzeng, a royal official of the Ming Dynasty, and Huang Chunyao, as well as historical sites and cultural relics such as stone pavilions, stone towers and stone peaks from the Song, Yuan, Ming and Qing dynasties, which are all well preserved. The manmade and natural landscapes are well blended here in the park.

Telephone: 86 (21) 59532604

Address: No 299 Tacheng Road, Jiading District

Ticket Price: 5 yuan

Opening: 7am - 5pm

MAIL TO DISTRICT CHIEFjiading@jiading.gov.cn

ATTRACTIONS

Jiading Fahua Pagoda

The Fahua Pagoda, 40.8 meters tall, is a square, brick-wood structure with seven stories, accessible by ladders.